Press Release

New Hampshire Golf Hall of Fame Committee Announces Professional Golfers to be Inducted into Inaugural Class

Concord, NH – The New Hampshire Golf Hall of Fame Committee is excited to announce the remaining individuals that are to be inducted into the inaugural class.  As the selection process is complete the committee is announcing the professional golfers that have been selected based on their professional accomplishments. Those golfers are: Kirk Hanefeld, PGA, Tony Loch, PGA, Phil Friel, PGA, and Pat Bradley.
The New Hampshire Golf Hall of Fame was established in 2018 to recognize individuals for their contributions to the game of golf in the Granite State. The Hall of Fame seeks to identify those who have had a profound effect on the game through accomplishments in playing, volunteerism, teaching, or any activity that has made a positive impact on the game within New Hampshire.
“New Hampshire is a state rich in golf history and tradition. It only seemed fitting that those individuals that have made such a profound impact on the game should be honored through the creation of the New Hampshire Golf Hall of Fame. The establishment of the HOF has been a process that has taken more than a year and we’re thrilled with the individuals that will be formally inducted this fall. I want to thank the Hall of Fame Committee, and in particular Chair Dave Larrivee, for all of the hard work that has gone in to the selection of the first class”, says NHGA Executive Director, Matt Schmidt.
On July 8th, the amateur golfers and contributors to the game that will be inducted in October were announced. The complete 2018 class includes Bob Mielcarz, Jesse Guilford, Dana Harrity, Robert ‘Doc’ Elliott, Bill Barrett, Kirk Hanefeld, PGA, Tony Loch, PGA, Phil Friel, PGA, and Pat Bradley.
The Hall of Fame ceremony will be held on Thursday, October 18th at Manchester Country Club. The event will be open to the public with tickets available for purchase later this summer.
Kirk Hanefeld, PGA
Kirk Hanefeld was a stand-out junior golfer in New Hampshire.  He won both the New Hampshire Junior Championship and the Red Ryan CYO tournament three times.  He then went on to win the New Hampshire Amateur Championship two times and won the New England Amateur Championship following that.  Since turning professional, he has won five State Opens, including the New Hampshire Open, and has participated in 3 PGA TOUR majors and 26 PGA TOUR Champions majors.  Hanefeld has made 71 starts on the PGA TOUR Champions since joining in 2006.  He currently holds the position of Director of Instruction at Salem Country Club in Massachusetts.
Tony Loch, PGA
Tony Loch has been a PGA Professional for over 50 years, serving the majority of that time as Head Golf Professional at Portsmouth Country Club.  During this time, he helped start the New Hampshire Chapter of the New England PGA and was part of a group of five individuals who started the Seacoast Amateur Golf Championship.  Over the years he has won over 100 Pro-Am tournaments throughout New England and was named the New Hampshire Chapter Professional of the Year in 1978.  Loch has enjoyed a long and distinguished golf career in New Hampshire.
Phil Friel, PGA
Phil Friel contributed to New Hampshire golf from the professional playing side along with building golf courses around New England.  On the playing side, Friel has won the New Hampshire Open, Maine Open, and New England PGA Championship.  He has competed in seven PGA Championships and was inducted into the New England Professional Golfers’ Association Hall of Fame in 1996.  He was the former Head Golf Professional at three different golf courses before building his first course, Green Meadow Golf Club.  He ended up owning 10 golf courses throughout New Hampshire, Massachusetts, and Maine.
Pat Bradley
Pat Bradley is a well-known name around the golf industry.  She began her playing days as an amateur, winning both the New Hampshire Women’s Golf Association Championship and the New England Women’s Golf Association Championship twice.  After joining the LPGA in 1974, she went on to win 31 titles.  She made four Solheim Cup appearances and has been named the LPGA Player of the Year two times.  Bradley was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 1991 for her numerous accomplishments.